Back to the list

URWERK

The history of URWERK has its origins far from Geneva, in the town of Ur in Mesopotamia. In 6000 BC its inhabitants, the Sumerians, defined the first unit of time on the basis of a rhythm of 12 equal periods, by observing the shadow thrown by the sun on their buildings. This laid the foundations of time measurement, as we know it today.

In the meantime, the history of watchmaking has been in a state of perpetual evolution and change. Master-watchmakers have made great efforts to ensure its continued evolution, through their eagerness to create the perfect mechanism, worthy of reflecting the passage of one of our most precious assets, time.

This long-term undertaking is symbolized in the German language by the term werk. This word single-handedly represents all the persistence and pugnacity of these craftsmen who, at their workbenches, forged what we now call Haute Horlogerie.

URWERK embodies the essence of this illustrious heritage.

https://www.art-in-time.com

Contact

Yohann Martinez, Directeur Ajoint

Téléphone

+377 93 15 00 00

Adresse

Galerie Art in Time, One Monte Carlo, Place du Casino, 98000 Monaco

Back to the list

URWERK

L'histoire d'URWERK a ses origines loin de Genève, dans la ville d'Ur en Mésopotamie. En 6000 avant JC ses habitants, les Sumériens, définissaient la première unité de temps sur la base d'un rythme de 12 périodes égales, en observant l'ombre projetée par le soleil sur leurs bâtiments. Cela a établi les bases de la mesure du temps, telle que nous la connaissons aujourd'hui. 

Entre-temps, l'histoire de l'horlogerie est en perpétuelle évolution. Les maîtres horlogers ont fait de gros efforts pour assurer sa poursuite de l'évolution, par leur désir à créer le mécanisme parfait, digne de refléter le passage de l'un de nos atouts les plus précieux, le temps.

Ce projet de longue durée est symbolisé en langue allemande par le terme ‘werk’. Ce mot représente à lui seul toute la persévérance et la pugnacité de ces artisans qui, à leurs établis, ont forgé ce que nous appelons aujourd'hui la Haute Horlogerie.

URWERK incarne l'essence de cet illustre héritage

https://www.art-in-time.com

Contact

Yohann Martinez, Directeur Ajoint

Téléphone

+377 93 15 00 00

Adresse

Galerie Art in Time, One Monte Carlo, Place du Casino, 98000 Monaco